Kenny Howard College/University Athletic Trainer Award

This award will recognize an athletic trainer at the college/university level for service to the institution, the community, as well as SEATA.  This person serves many functions in addition to athletic training.

2021        Matt Cahoon, DAT, LAT, ATC

2020        Doug Frye, LAT, ATC

2019        Amos Mansfield, MBA, LAT, ATC

2018        Shelly Mullenix, MS, ATC

2017        Andrew B. Gibson, III, MS, LAT, ATC, PES

2016        James Madaleno, MS, ATC

2015        Todd McCall, ATC

2014        Tim Hughley, ATC

2013        Phil Shaw, MEd, ATC

2012        Gerald Jordan, MEd, ATC

2011        Jack Marucci, MS, ATC,

                & LSU Athletic Training Staff

2010        Cary Lynn Berthelot, MA, ATC

2009        Jim Murphy, ATC, PT

2008        David "Duke' Werner, ATC

2007        University of Florida Athletic Training Staff

​​2005        Bob Goodwin, ATC

2004        Ed Evans, ATC

2003        Rodney Brown, ATC

2002        Ron Courson, ATC

2001        Sherry Kimbro, ATC

2000        Alan Lollar, ATC

1999        Jerry May, ATC



  • The nominee must currently be a certified member of SEATA for a minimum of 2 years and licensed to practice Athletic Training in their respective state

  • The nominee must currently be employed in a college, university or community college setting in SEATA and possess a total of 2 years cumulative experience in the setting.

  • Must be nominated online and a current resume detailing the above service submitted to the SEATA Honors and Awards Committee at

  • This award does not have to be presented annually if there are no qualified candidate(s) nominated.

SEATA Awards Nomination Form


The Southeast Athletic Trainers' Association (SEATA) is District IX of the National Athletic Trainers' Association.  It is a not-for-profit organization dealing with the concerns of its members and the profession of athletic training as a whole.  This association was first started back in 1950.  Initially comprised of the members of the Southeastern Conference schools, this district is represented by Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.


P.O. Box 1810

Thibodaux, LA 70302

SEATA Privacy Policy

SEATA does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, military status, sexual orientation, or age.  SEATA is committed to accessibility and nondiscrimination in all aspects of its continuing education activities.  Participants who have special needs are encouraged to contact the program organizers so that all reasonable efforts to accommodate these needs can be made.

Proudly created and managed by SJ Creative.