top of page




​This award is given to the person that has contributed to SEATA and athletic training as a profession.  Both medical and non-medical persons have been recipients of this award. This award is the highest award given to a person who may not be an athletic trainer and is designed to show the district’s appreciation for particular contributions to the field of athletic training in the southeast.  This award was renamed in honor of Dr. Jack C. Hughston, M.D. by the SEATA Executive Board in December 2004.

2022        Russell Belcher, M.D. & Matt Rappe, M.D,


2023        Brent Smith, M.D.

2024        David Marshall, M.D.


2021        Don Aaron, M.D.

2020        None

2019        None

2018        Jeffery Dugas, M.D.

2017        Gregory Stewart, M.D.

2016        E. Lyle Cain, Jr., M.D.

2015        Peter Indelicato, M.D.

2014        Randy Schwartzberg, M.D.

2013        Eve Becker-Doyle, CAE

2012        Doug Rouse, M.D.

2011        Felix "Buddy" Savoie, M.D.

2010        William G. Clancey, Jr., M.D.

2009        Gene Barrett, M.D.

2008        Michael T. Casey, M.D.

2007        Michael Brunet, M.D.

2006        J. W. Thomas Byrd, M.D.

2005        William Mulherin, M.D.

2004        Letha Yurko "Etty" Griffin, M.D., PhD

2003        James A. Whiteside, M.D.

2002        Ed Fields, M.D.

2001        Mark Cullen, M.D.

2000        Bobby Gaston

1999        Skeeter Schuessler

1998        Glenn Terry, M.D.

1997        Mary Lloyd Ireland, M.D.

1996        Grace and George Watson

1995        Von Neida

1994        Moose Detty, ATC and Family

1993        Robert Rubright, M.D.

1992        Rudy Ellis, M.D.

1991        Wayne Watson

1990        James R. Andrews, M.D.


1989        Jack Hughston, M.D.

1988        John Longest, M.D.






  • Nominees must have 15 years of service in an area of athletic training within the geographical region of SEATA.

  • Must be nominated online by 3 people (2 of which must be certified members of SEATA) providing a recommendation detailing the nominee’s contributions to SEATA, or the profession of athletic training.

  • This award does not have to be presented annually if there are no qualified candidate(s) nominated.

SEATA Awards Nomination Form

bottom of page