Young Professionals' Distinction Award

This is the newest award given by SEATA.  It is designed to recognize a young professional athletic trainer that has positively impacted the athletic training profession at the state and district level.  This award is unique to District IX young professionals and explores the depth and breadth of character, service, and professionalism.  An award, including complimentary basic registration for the SEATA Clinical Symposium and Members' Meeting, goes to this recipient.

2021        None

2020        Cynthia Marra, MS, LAT, ATC, OTC

2019        Ashley Morgan, MAT, ATC

2018        Dara Moak, LAT, ATC

​2017        LeKyndra Sherrill Smith, MS, LAT, ATC





  • The candidate must be considered a "young professional" at the time of nomination (first 12 years of certification).

  • The nominee must currently be a certified member or certified student member of NATA and SEATA and licensed to practice Athletic Training in their respective state.

  • The nominee must have a NPI number.

  • The nominee must have three years of experience and membership in NATA and SEATA for a minimum of three years.

  • Current members of the District IX Young Professionals' Committee (YPC) are not eligible; past members are eligible.

  • Must complete nomination form and submit one to three letters of recommendation online.

  • Individuals may not receive this award twice.

  • This award does not have to be presented annually if there are no qualified candidate(s) nominated.

District IX Young Professionals' Distinction Award


The Southeast Athletic Trainers' Association (SEATA) is District IX of the National Athletic Trainers' Association.  It is a not-for-profit organization dealing with the concerns of its members and the profession of athletic training as a whole.  This association was first started back in 1950.  Initially comprised of the members of the Southeastern Conference schools, this district is represented by Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.


P.O. Box 1810

Thibodaux, LA 70302

SEATA Privacy Policy

SEATA does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, military status, sexual orientation, or age.  SEATA is committed to accessibility and nondiscrimination in all aspects of its continuing education activities.  Participants who have special needs are encouraged to contact the program organizers so that all reasonable efforts to accommodate these needs can be made.

Proudly created and managed by SJ Creative.